Planning Board

Town of Oswego
Planning Board Minutes
January 21, 2013

Chairman: Judy Sabin-Watson
Planning Board Members: Francis Dellamano, Richard Kaulfuss, Lee Phillips, Barry Pritchard, Gary Richardson, Noreen Ruttan
Attorney to the Board: Stephen C. Greene, Jr.

Secretary: Teresa Botting

The meeting of the Oswego Town Planning Board was held on January 21, 2013 at town hall.
Chairman Judy Sabin Watson called the meeting to order at 7:05 PM. Roll call was taken with the following members present:

Judy Sabin Watson, Chair
Richard Kaulfuss, Planning Member
Lee Phillips, Planning Member
Barry Pritchard, Planning Member
Gary Richardson, Planning Member
Noreen Ruttan, Planning Member
Fran Dellamano, Planning Member, excused
Stephen Greene Jr., Planning Attorney

Motion by Judy Sabin Watson, second by Gary Richardson to approve the October 15, 2012 planning minutes, all ayes motion carried.

Old Business: None

New Business: Mike Lynby from Lunco Corporation presented to the board preliminary plans for an addition to the existing building for Eagle Beverage. He brought the outline of this project and a diagram of the proposed facility which will be done in phases. The first thing they will do is relocate service facility to the south side of the lot. New docking facility off the front. They will elevate the grade for this new facility. This will be the same type of business, making this addition their corporate facility. They may take down an older part of the current building or refurbish it, if they tear it down a new office building will be added.

Noreen Ruttan: What about truck traffic and road questions.

Mike Lynby: They will be adding a second entrance near rear docking area. Traffic will be the same, employee parking will change.

Gary Richardson: What about the number of trucks that will be coming and going?

Mike Lynby: He feels 3 tractor trailers per day going to Watertown. No impact on delivery traffic may reduce traffic, more efficient.

Gary Richardson: This will be the main hub?

Mike Lynby: Yes this will be their main corporate headquarters.
Mike Lynby: What is the process for this type of project?

Theresa Cooper: Explained he would need to see Wayne Newton first with all his plans, then he would pay for the public hearing and the secretary would take over with the public hearing process. After public hearing the building permits would be issued by Wayne.

Mike Lynby: Who notifies the surrounding neighbors?

Theresa Cooper: The planning secretary will give them all the names so they could notify either by certified mail or hand delivery.

Lee Phillips: How many employees, any new employees?

Mike Lynby: No new employees the jobs will be retained here, may increase if business increases.

Richard Kaulfuss: What about the IDA?

Mike Lynby: They have talked with IDA in Oswego and had IDA approval in Watertown. He feels they will be funding this project themselves.

Judy Sabin Watson: How many phases for this project?

Mike Lynby: There will be four phases but all will be submitted as one.

Noreen Ruttan: What is the new square footage?

Mike Lynby: 40-50 square feet

Barry Pritchard: What is the service area?

Mike Lynby: Tool bay, oil service which they may be phasing out.

Lee Phillips: What direction will trucks be coming and going from the warehouse?

Mike Lynby: Not sure

Judy Sabin Watson: Are you going to have to move or what grading will be needed?

Mike Lynby: Not much site work. Their intentions are to have plans ready for April project will be complete by May 2014. Longer project because of all the phases.

Motion by Noreen Ruttan, second by Richard Kaulfuss to elect Judy Sabin-Watson as Chair of the Planning Board, all ayes motion carried.

Motion by Barry Pritchard and second by Noreen Ruttan to elect Fran Dellamano as Vice Chair of Planning Board all ayes motion carried.

Barry Pritchard asked about United Group and if there was anything going on.

Motion by Gary Richardson and second by Richard Kaulfuss to adjourn the meeting at 7:40 PM, all ayes motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Theresa A. Cooper,
Secretary Pro Tem

Top of Page