April 11, 2005
Town Board Minutes

Oswego Town Hall

Supervisor: Victoria M. Mullen
Town Board Members: Tim DeSacia, Greg Herrmann,
Margaret Mahaney, Carol Pritchard
Attorney to the Board: Stephen C. Greene, Sr.
The meeting of the Oswego Town Board was held on April 11, 2005 at the Oswego Town Hall. Supervisor Mullen opened the meeting at 7:00 PM with the Pledge of Allegiance. Roll call was taken with the following members present:
Attorney to the Board
Victoria Mullen
Tim DeSacia

Greg Herrmann

Margaret Mahaney

Carol Pritchard
Stephen C. Greene
Town Clerk’s Report: Taxes to be paid to the County Treasurer on April 13, 2005 will be $1,347,907.27. March monthly fees to supervisor, $1,117.29, total for month $1,281.30. The Historical Society will have a presenter on April 21, 2005 at 6:00 pm at town hall. The presenter will show his postcards of the area. All are welcome.

Supervisor's Report: The town hall project is going as planned. The demolishing of the building will begin on Wednesday April 13th.

Asbestos is removed; as well as water electricity, heat and phone has been terminated.

The bids for the new construction are due 4 PM Thursday the 14th at the town hall. Bid opening will commence at 4.05pm.

As of April 5th 45 bid pack have been picked up.

Pat Hennessey from “Experience works” called to let me know there are people 55 and older in need of employment to gain experience. I do not have all the details however the “experience works” group pays the salaries etc., and we would just have to provide some jobs for them. I will investigate this program and see where we can utilize this free service.

Spring is finally here, we will hold a park clean up on Earth Day April 23rd from 10 till noon, all are welcome, bring a rake!

I would like to thank Mr. DeSacia, for filling in for me, and everyone for keeping things running smoothly while I was down under!

The town assessors will be available to meet with residents to discuss assessments during the month of May, their schedule is posted and copies are available. The information will also be posted on the town’s web site.

Grievance day is Tuesdays May 24th. 9 am -noon and 5-8pm

Public Comment: The following town residents and other interested parties offered their comments on the proposed change of ambulance service in the town. City of Oswego Fire Chief Ed Geers, town residents, John Geraci, George Feeney, Dave White, Doug Malone, Jim Finn, Ron Nelson, Eric Mills, Robert Malone, and Greg Smith. Their concerns were why the board wanted to change services, would town taxes go down, is only about money, why only one ambulance in the town, can more research be done and a committee be formed to look into billing issues etc, have there been any complaints about our current ambulance service with the City of Oswego? Ambulance owner Jim Mentor answered questions posed by the town residents about his proposed service to the town. Comments from Councilor Herrmann, Mahaney and Supervisor Mullen stated that research has been done, the billing is an issue, we can’t get any help from the college to get billing information on the students. Supervisor Mullen stated she would like to table the issue at this time.

Resolution 2005-42 Be it resolved that the Oswego Town Board tables the issue of changing ambulance service with the City of Oswego. Moved by Supervisor Mullen and seconded by Councilor Pritchard. All ayes motion carried.

Resolution 2005-43 Be it resolved that the Oswego Town Board approves the minutes from the March 14, 2005 town board meeting. Moved by Supervisor Mullen, seconded by Councilor Mahaney. All ayes motion carried.

Resolution 2005-44 Be it resolved that the Oswego Town Board approves the bills on Abstract 4.
General Fund
Highway Fund
Capital Projects Fund
Franklin/Baylis Lighting
Edgebrook Lighting
Sleepy Hollow Sewer District
Ontario Heights Sewer District










Moved by Councilor Pritchard, seconded by Councilor Mahaney. All ayes motion carried.

Resolution 2005-45 Be it resolved that the Oswego Town Board approves the polling places as follows: 1& 3 Alliance Church, District 2 & 4, Oswego Town Fire Station, District 5& 6 Oswego Town Hall and District 7, Hewitt Union. Motion by Supervisor Mullen, seconded by Councilor DeSacia. All ayes motion carried.

Motion by Councilor Pritchard, seconded by Councilor Mahaney to close the meeting at 7:50 PM. All ayes motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Theresa A. Cooper, RMC
Oswego Town Clerk
Back to 2005 Agendas & Minutes
Back to Town Board Web Page
Top of Page